Give a girl the right shoes and she can conquer the World!

970420_10151734010807214_2079582658_n

We’ve all had the stomach lurching moment – the presentation in front of a crowd of people, walking into a room of strangers, the first date, the job interview that you really wanted, going to a dinner party full of couples and you’re the only single – remember Bridget Jones?? What works for me – great shoes, fabulous underwear, a great bag and a smile! So choose your armoury?

I used to spend money on shoes, handbags and skin care to make myself feel happier. Space NK & Harvey Nichols were my places of worship and Jimmy Choo, Gucci & Sisley were my drugs of choice. Also, massive bonus – they still fit when I put on weight – genius!

This week my lovely friend and business partner Teresa (fondly referred to as TB)  launched a new women’s only business club in Cheltenham. So 120 amazing women came to see what it was all about! We knew about  20 of them, as friends and turned up to provide moral support. There were definitely lots of armoury used on Wednesday night. I AM WOMAN Cheltenham was born on Wednesday 12th June 2013.

Let me explain, I’d been to an IAW meeting in Cardiff as I was bored with clubs & networking in Bristol. I came away from the first meeting, inspired, excited and full of smiles. I called TB and told her she must go – it’s a bit of a trek for her – about 80 minutes drive! She came away with the same view and then the journey began. March was the month the idea was conceived and June it was delivered.

So this week we launched IAW Cheltenham, over 120 lovely business women in the room, great, smart, savvy women with great shoes! The speakers were fabulous: Sharron Davies MBE (an Olympian swimmer) The Lord Lieutenant of Glos Dame Janet Trotter DBE, and patron of IAW Margaret Carter – who needs her own award! They shared their stories, their lessons and their tips – amazing.

TB & I learned loads, about ourselves, each other and people around us. We were soooo tired, a little tearful (me not TB) and chuffed to pieces that our launch had been the success we had hoped. After some sleep, reflection, an objective “drains up” on what worked and what didn’t we are feeling “10 feet tall and indestructible!” We flippin did it! Our friendship is even stronger, we have met and are building a relationships with some fabulous new women and we are having fun!

So if you happened to be there – thank you for your support, if you weren’t and you’re local come and join us next month! (July 10th)! Follow us on Twitter @IAWChelt come & say hello! 🙂

So this week TB & I wore great shoes and we felt we can conquer the world!

I feel a blog coming on about the real issues & lessons learned about setting us a business club in 80 days… I’ll keep you posted! xox

This blog has been written as part of the I AM WOMAN 30day blog and LinkedIn challenge

http://www.lindadaviescarr.myarbonne.co.uk

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Give a girl the right shoes and she can conquer the World!

  1. Dr Bridget says:

    It was a great evening! You both did an amazing job- Onwards and upwards x

  2. jaqui2013 says:

    It was a fab evening and such a nice venue. I wore my gorgeous purple heels!

Leave a Reply

